Pity Party

The world is ending. Or at least, that’s how it seems. Everyday a new disaster, more cases, new restrictions, bigger rules. The isolation period is enough to break even the strongest in society. What a terrible time to live alone.

Who knew that moving closer to home this year would actually mean finding a way to distance myself even further.

A virus – strong enough to take out the human race – or so they say.

Practice good hygiene – stay 6 feet away – stay the fuck at home. Alone.

My favourite holiday is thanksgiving, so on the plus side at least right now I am only missing Easter. One less place at the table, one less visit home, and about one hundred puppy kisses missed.

The town is on lock down. No one out, no one in. The city has the power to pop up laws and give out fines at their leisure. There is literally no telling what tomorrow will bring.

But it’s Spring outside – and it is beautiful. The air smells clean and fresh – like a new beginning. I can smell it from my apartment window. Prying back the curtains to let as much sunlight in as possible. Turning the heater up one more notch so that I can bare the cool breeze that I so desperately crave.

I just want to go home.

Leave a comment